Contact us

Training Card Types (GIT cards)

General Construction Induction Training Cards (GIT Cards)

Under the Work Health and Safety Regulation 2011 (WHS Regulation), WorkCover NSW recognises all interstate General Construction Induction Training (GIT) cards issued under corresponding Work Health and Safety legislation as well as a range of cards issued under previous arrangements.

Any GIT cards issued under current or former arrangements will only be recognised in NSW if they continue to be recognised in the issuing jurisdiction and have not been cancelled, suspended or expired. In addition, cards from any jurisdiction will only be regarded as valid provided the holder has not been out of the industry for more than two years as per clause 316 of the WHS Regulation.

Construction workers with valid versions of these cards are not required to undertake GIT in NSW and are not required to obtain a WorkCover NSW GIT card. WorkCover inspectors will regard these interstate cards as evidence of meeting the requirements for GIT under clause 317 of the WHS Regulation.

These interstate cards must be produced if requested by a NSW inspector. An inspector may also request a sample of the person’s usual signature. If a person carrying out work in the NSW construction industry claims to be in possession of one of the interstate cards and cannot immediately produce it, an inspector may consider issuing an improvement or penalty notice to the person in control of the site or the construction work.

Recognition of General Construction Induction Training Cards

Steps to Obtaining Traffic Control Cards.

    1. First you will need to get an OHS WHITE CARD occupational health and safety.
    2. BLUE and Yellow Cards are the next requirements.

BLUE –Traffic Controller – Stop / Slow bat
YELLOW –Apply Traffic Control Plans – Place signageAdvanced training

    1. RED AND ORANGE cards

RED –Select/Modify Traffic Control Plans – Supervisor
ORANGE –Design & Inspect Traffic Control Plans

The qualifications are issued for a period of 3 years to individuals who successfully complete the relevant training course, including assessments.